Hall of Fame


Throughout the history of the Cross Country Club of Dallas and the Dallas Running Club, there have been countless runners and hard working volunteers that have enabled the club to not only survive, but thrive for nearly 50 years.  The DRC Hall of Fame was established in 2013 as a way to recognize those individuals that have made significant contributions to the club.  Each year, new Hall of Fame inductees are presented at DRC's Annual Meeting and Holiday Party in December.  One of our incredibly talented members, Kim Andres, has presented the club with an original painting of the first two inductees (image of paintings shown below).


Name: Taldridge "Tal" Morrison
Year Inducted: 2013
Bio Info:

Tal founded the Cross Country Club of Dallas(CCCD) in 1969 which later became the Dallas Running Club.  He also established the White Rock Marathon in 1971 which later became the Dallas Marathon. Tal learned about the value of running and fitness will serving in the Navy and has been dedicated to enjoying and sharing this passion ever since he moved to Dallas and the White Rock Lake area.

Name: James Thruston
Year Inducted: 2014
Bio Info:

James Thruston has been an innovator and a stalwart fixture in the Dallas running scene for many years.  He was instrumental in launching what is known as the DRC Half in the 1970's and served as President of the DRC from 1979-1982.  James also served as Race Director for the Dallas Marathon and directed dozens of other races in the Metroplex for over 20 years.